Safety Professional of the Year (SPY)

The ASSP Chapter SPY award is an honor acknowledging the dedication and outstanding contributions of a member to a specific Chapter.

1. Demonstrated technical expertise in the broad field of safety and a thorough knowledge of the operational aspects of his/her safety employment.

2. Demonstrated outstanding contributions to the, Chapter or Section, activities, including committee or task force chair, officer, services to members, lecturer at seminars, etc.

3. Leadership in establishment, maintenance, and improvement of technical or Chapter programs in the organization nominee serves or elsewhere.

4. Other personal achievements related to safety and health.

5. Professional contributions to advance the safety profession, such as fostering professional development, public/community services, instructor at educational institutions, involvement in codes and legislation, articles written, work with allied groups, etc.

6. Awards and innovations, including citations, honors, plaques; or new procedures or systems developed.

7. Endorsements by superiors and verification by associates, in the form of letters on appropriate stationery of the employer, Area Director, where applicable and Regional Vice President.

All nominations must be submitted to the chapter by February 1st of the chapter year.

To download the Chapter SPY nomination package click here.

To download the Regional SPY nomination package click here.

  • 2022-2023
    Robin Barfield, SMS

  • 2021-2022
    Michael Behm, PhD

  • 2020-2021
    Kim Blatz, MEng, CSP, CRSP, CHO, CPEA

  • 2019-2020
    W. Jon Wallace, MBA, CSP

  • 2018-2019
    Matt Wilcox, CSP

  • 2017-2018
    Chris Hinson, MA, CIH, CSP, CHMM

  • 2016-2017
    Alicia Mitchell, CSP, CHMM

  • 2015-2016
    Jay Sprankle, CSP

  • 2014-2015
    Arlene Edwards, CSP

  • 2013-2014
    Bob Andrews, CSP

  • 2012-2013
    Tom Cecich, CIH, CSP

  • 2011-2012
    Steve Crooks, MS, CIH, CSP