Chapter Officers

The North Carolina Chapter is a not-for-profit organization chartered December 13th, 1955 for the purpose of carrying out the objectives of the Society in its geographical area. Our area is defined in our Bylaws but can generically be referred to as “the Triangle”. We are a chapter with over 460 members and operate in support of you, the member, and our Society as a whole. Located around the seat of our State’s Capitol, our chapter has been very active in Government Affairs over the past couple decades. We are one of four chapters in North Carolina but pride ourselves on being the first. Please feel free to attend a local chapter meeting as a member or a guest and get to know your fellow EH&S professionals. The networking and professional education that’s available to you locally is greater than you might imagine.

Use the Contact Us page to email the chapter leadership team.

  • President
    Doug Gaylord, MSOS, CHMM, SMS, RSO

  • President-Elect
    Frieda Sanders, Ph.D., AOEE, MESH, IH-MESH

  • Secretary
    Matt Machles

  • Treasurer
    Jay Sprankle, CSP

  • Advisory Board Member
    Ogaga Tebehaevu
  • Advisory Board Member
    Robin Barfield, SMS, MESH

  • Student Affairs Chair
  • Program Chair
  • Website/Social Media Chair
  • Membership Chair
    Michelle Barger, OHST

  • Member At Large, Chair
    Jeff Meddin, CHEP, CHCM, WSO-CSE, CSP (Ret.)
  • Awards Chair
    Jessica D. Frederick, SHRM-CP

  • Advisory Board
    Jon Wallace, MBA, CSP