President’s Message – December 2018

Dec 13, 2018

The 2018 – 2019 chapter year for the North Carolina Chapter of ASSP began with an auspicious start: our September meeting was cancelled due to Hurricane Florence. At our October meeting, we fortunately held the meeting just prior to the rains from Hurricane Michael. Our November meeting went off without a hitch! For our December meeting (rescheduled from the September meeting), we had a major snow storm just four days prior to the meeting. Tony Watson, MSPH, CIH, CSP gave an excellent speech: Industrial Hygiene Update: Silica and hexavalent chromium. We invited members of the North Carolina Chapter of American Industrial Hygiene Association (AIHA) members and had 38 attendees. This was the largest attendance for a chapter meeting in over three years. What a great way to finish out 2018!

We also had a very successful Toys for Tots holiday drive. With our members donating $250 and our chapter matching the $250 for a total donation of $500. For the Troops Care Packages, the members donated $200 along with a $200 match for a total of $400. Many thanks to Arlene Edwards and Chris Hinson for all of their efforts in this holiday donation effort!

One task I’ve mastered during my short tenure as President is how to delegate! We have an outstanding executive committee that is simply second to none. I cannot thank everyone enough for there ongoing efforts. We are always looking for volunteers to help us with chapter efforts. Please contact me or any executive committee member if you are interested in volunteering. I honestly believe we have one of the very best chapters in the United States; however; we are always striving for continuous improvement.

For our January 2019 meeting, we have Matt Willcox, CSP, Risk Control Director for Southern Operations of Coca Cola Bottling and ASSP Area Director who will speak about “Fleet Safety – It’s Not Just About Big Trucks.”


I look forward to seeing you at our meetings in 2019. Happy Holidays!

W. Jon Wallace, CSP, MBA

North Carolina ASSP Chapter President