

http://nc.assp.org/

## **Executive Committee Officer Meeting Minutes**

DATE: 06/13/2024

Location: Brio Italian Grille, 4325 Glenwood Ave, Raleigh, NC

5:30 pm - 8:30 pm

#### **NC Executive Committee Member Attendance:**

Elected Officers	Office	Present?
Doug Gaylord, SMS, CHMM, MS	President	Yes (+1)
Frieda E. Sanders, Ph.D., AOEE, MESH, IH-MESH	President Elect	Yes (+1)
Matt Machles	Secretary	Yes
Jay Sprankle, CSP	Treasurer	Yes (+1)
Ogaga Tebehaevu, MS, CIH, CSP	Advisory Board	Yes
Robin Barfield, SMS	Advisory Board	Yes (+1)
Executive Committee Members	Office	
Michelle Barger, OHST	Membership Chair	Yes
Jessica Frederick, SHRM-CP	Awards Chair	Yes (+1)
Kevon Price	Student Chair / Student Relations	No
Jon Wallace, MBA, CSP	EC Member at Large	Yes
Jeff Meddin, CSP	EC Member at Large	Yes
Open Executive Committee Positions		
Government Affairs Chair	Website Coordinator / Communications Chair	
Program Chair	Social Media Chair	
Guests	Representing	

Note: A quorum is a majority (four) of the six elected officers or a majority (six) of the **eleven** executive committee members with at least two elected officers.

Page 1 of 4 06/14/2024



http://nc.assp.org/

### **Executive Committee Meeting**

**Presiding:** Doug Gaylord, President **Minutes:** Matt Machles, Secretary

A quorum was established at 7:26 pm with six Elected Officers and ten total EC Members.

#### **Approval of May EC Meeting Minutes**

Matt Machles sent out the May EC Meeting Minutes prior to the EC Meeting. Robin Barfield moved to accept the EC Meeting Minutes. Jeff Meddin seconded. May EC Meeting Minutes approved.

#### **Finance and Treasurer Items**

Outgoing Chapter Treasurer Jay Sprankle will be meeting with the incoming 2024-2025 Chapter Treasurer Jon Wallace in early July to transfer the roles and responsibilities of Treasurer.

Page 2 of 4 06/14/2024



http://nc.assp.org/

#### **Elected Officer Installation Ceremony**

Jay Sprankle presented the 2024-2025 North Carolina Chapter Elected Officers and read the affirmation statement for the Elected Officers to those that were present.

The following Elected Officers stood and affirmed their roles for the 2024-2025 Chapter Year:

President – Doug Gaylord
President-Elect – Frieda Sanders
Secretary – Robin Barfield
Treasurer – Jon Wallace
Advisory Board Member – Ogaga Tebehaeuvu
Advisory Board Member – Doug Gaylord

### **COMT**

Doug Gaylord has submitted the final COMT Report and confirmed that the Carolina Chapter has earned Platinum Status for the 2023-2024 Chapter Year.

Page 3 of 4 06/14/2024



http://nc.assp.org/

#### **Awards Chair**

Jessica Frederick and Doug Gaylord presented the awards.

Ogaga Tebehaevu was presented with the 2023-2024 Carolina Chapter Safety Professional of the Year (SPY) Award.

Matt Machles was recognized and presented with the award as running Chapter Secretary since 2019.

Jay Sprankle was recognized and presented with the award as long-standing Chapter Treasurer as well as other roles for the Carolina Chapter.

Frieda Sanders was presented with an award for her role as President Elect for the 2023-2024 Chapter Year, as well as for the upcoming Chapter Year.

Doug Gaylord was presented with an award for her role as Chapter President for the 2023-2024 Chapter Year, as well as for the upcoming Chapter Year.

Robin Barfield made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 8:05 pm. Doug Gaylord seconded. The Elected Officer Induction Ceremony was adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,

Matt Machles

Secretary, North Carolina Chapter

Page 4 of 4 06/14/2024